Here we go again.

I am not much of a blogger, as you can see. I don’t journal regularly either, but rather sporadically (last time was four years ago). I think this comes from a variety of reasons, the most prominent being my laziness. I do recognize the benefits, though: increased clarity in thoughts, an opportunity to encourage myself and others, being able to glorify God through my writings, etc..

Something I have always known about myself is that I am not a very deep thinker about many things, nor do I have very many convictions about relevant current events. I am also a very distracted thinker and have what I call a singly-focused mind – meaning that my mind is capable of focusing on only one thought/topic at a time, and when my mind is considering one thing, I often cannot consider another thing or listen to someone else until I set my focus on that thing or person. It’s sometimes a source of conflict with my close friends when I don’t hear what they say or when I don’t pay attention to them. And my mind sometimes gets blown when I consider people who are able to multi-task like that.

My brother in Christ, who is very close and beloved to me, convinced me to journal again, and in also considering the reasons above, I decided to scour the interwebs for my old blog! In doing this, and assuming I continue to write (whether I do, only God knows…), I hope to first encourage myself by pointing myself to the Gospel, to God, and to His promises (I am often very selfish in what I do/say/think). Second, I hope to encourage whoever else may read this. Third, I hope to practice thinking deeply about whatever is on my mind, and to not let distractions at the end of the day drive out whatever I need to contemplate. Fourth, I hope to bring glory to God through my writing, to worship and adore him as a result of my contemplating.

I think very few of us consider the gift God has given us in communication. He has blessed us with the ability to speak, write, and read, and how much more so now with videos, recordings, webcamming, etc.! Just as Luke had recorded the life of Jesus to point his friend Theophilus to the truth of Christ, so I hope to write and record to point myself (and you!) to Christ. 

Leave a comment